In recent years, many governments have brought in laws to ban smoking in public places, such as bars, restaurants and offices. To what extent do you agree or disagree with banning smoking in public places?

Nowadays, some governments have prohibited smoking in the public community like in the workplace, restaurants and so on. I strongly agree with banning smoking in the public community because of some reasons and in this essay I will support my view with examples. Smoking causes 90 per cent of all lung cancer deaths but we should bear in mind that smoke does not just affect the smoker, but also other people around the smoker. It releases toxic chemicals into the air like arsenic and benzene which turn non-smokers into victims. For instance, imagine someone is smoking inside a restaurant, it is not very pleasant or healthy to smell smoke while eating in the same place. Moreover, smoking creates a poor environment to study or work. In other words, smoke can be a distraction as some people like to study in the library or work in the workplace without being annoyed with second-hand smoke. On the other hand, some argue that forbid on smoking is against the rights of a smoker. They say it is not against the law, so individuals should have the freedom to smoke wherever they wish. In addition, they believe a ban would possibly drive many bars and pubs out of business since a significant number of bar’s customers are smokers. To sum up, smoking increases health risks and I believe that it should be banned in public places. Banning smoking in public places can reduce the number of death and disease infection. However, there should be special places where smokers can smoke freely.