In many cities, the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

Nowadays, many countries are using surveillance cameras in public areas to decrease the rising criminality rate. However, some individuals think that this increased security has led to some problems like privacy infringement and blackmailing; in this essay, I will explain why these are far outweighed by the benefits. Admittedly, the proliferation of security cameras in public places has some disadvantages. The first one is that it comes with a risk of an individual's right to a privacy breach, as Video cameras capture every moment. Therefore, people who are aware of their presence often feel forced to make a conscious effort to conduct themselves respectably when accessing public places. While this is not a major issue, it can certainly be a nuisance at times. Another one is that an intelligent person could easily hack this security system and get the recordings, which they could easily use to either blackmail or torture the citizens. For example, in the news, we always heard about women being spied and abused using public surveillance cameras. Despite these issues, the advantages to people and cops are far more significant. Firstly, Video cameras in public places help to maintain rules and regulations. They continuously keep an eye out for any crimes and record if they occur. As a result, public violations of laws can be controlled if they are aware of the presence of a system looking down at all their actions. Secondly, any footage from these cameras can be produced in a court of law as evidence. In most criminal cases, law enforcement authorities cannot put the offender behind bars due to a lack of evidence. This is where CCTV is an effective tool for police, which provides them with an actual video of the crime being committed. In conclusion, it is clear that more installation of security cameras in public spaces is necessary to reduce the crime rate. Although some people may find it inconvenient as it has adverse effects on their freedom and life, I strongly believe that the advantages in terms of safety, security, and justice are more important.