Some people get into debt by buying things they don’t need and can’t afford. What are the reasons for this behaviour? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

There is no denying that people lifestyle changed over the past few years, and they tend to consume more extravagant things. However, there is some chunk of folks who have not any restraint when it comes to shopping often face serious financial issue. Such attitude can be due to social tradition, and it can be prevented by financial education. To begin with, We live in the digital era with an abundance of consumer products. Online shopping makes us even more careless and we ended up owning things that we do not really need. For instance, a recent report in the Times of India emphasis how digital marketing tends people to purchase more goods than in the non-digital era. We are adopting a consumerism habit by which we enjoy shopping and less focused on saving. Furthermore, Some folks contend that owning lavish things is leads to a high status in society. They want to show off their wealth by purchasing lastest products as soon as it is launched even if they can't afford it. So, they have to face financial pitfall. Admittedly, Consumer culture develops an untenable habit of buying stuff more than one's limit. To curb this issue, financial education must be introduced to all ages of people. Financial literature includes saving, debt management and knowledge for taking sensible financial decisions so an individual can save from financial pitfalls. ​ For example, the government of India has started a public outreach program on financial mismanagement and advising the public not to purchase products through credit. As a result, these purchases have seen a massive decline. To summarise, one has to buy goods according to their need and must be within budget. However, some people ignore this axiom and fall into a massive financial problem. Consumer culture worsens this situation and financial knowledge can enhance the condition.