Many businesses think that the new employees who graduate from schools lack basic interpersonal skills, such as working with colleagues as a team. What has caused this and what are solutions to the problems?

Work experience has long been an issue for adolescents fresh out of school who are trying to get a job. Recently-graduated workers are thought by managers to be incompetent in handling interpersonal relationships. The main reason for this observation is the lack of group projects in tertiary education, and solutions include offering internships and encouraging young adults to participate in volunteer activities. Analysing the minimal number of times college students are required to work as a team provides the major cause for their insufficiency in social skills once in the workforce. In my experience, most university assignments are individual, and those that are collective are insignificant tasks that do not demand substantial cooperation between team members. For instance, though pupils may be asked to separate into groups to discuss a topic in workshops, dissertations are oftentimes completed single-handedly. Accordingly, higher education does not offer sufficient training in interpersonal skills to its attendees. As a result, those who have just obtained a degree oftentimes struggle to work with colleagues in a partnership. One possible solution for this unfortunate occurrence is to notify students of available internships. Internships simulate the environment in which they will work in the near future with all the potential collaborative problems that may arise. That way, youths will be able to enhance their interpersonal skills without many practical consequences. Another probable solution is to motivate teenagers to take part in community services. Volunteer projects do not only demand mutual coordination but also inspire those involved to put down their ego. I will draw from personal experience to demonstrate this point. During my time in the US, I volunteered in a carnivore for handicapped children. As I took a boy called Sam around, I had to collaborate with students who are in charge of different game stations to ensure Sam's safety, and when he misbehaved, I tried to be patient and assisted him in the best way I could. Therefore, charity activities indeed help one develop social proficiency in various manners. In conclusion, the main reason newly graduated youths are complained to be inadequate in teamwork situations is the absence of exposure in higher-education institutions. To tackle this problem, young adults should be given more chances to take on work placements or volunteer jobs to enhance their social competency before officially entering the workforce.