Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. Do you agree or disagree?

governments are better to spend money on public services rather than irrelavent things such as art. I find myself totally agreeing with the given statement. My main reason in believing so is rooted in the definitions of government and what is expected from them. the governing body of each country must look after its own people and fulfilling their needs in the following order: safety, welfare and equality. having these in mind, the are a lot to be done for the people who have certain expectations. Also it is safe to say there is always room for progress and the government has its hand full acheiving these goals. By this logic, I do not consider arts the right subject for any government to focus on. In addition, arts are more related to each individuals creativity. Meaning individuals are the source and target of it. In a more complete sense, there is no need for the interference of the public sector for arts to strive, because it can look after itself by people who are considered critics, artists, viewer and so on. We have this society shich can survive no matter the help of the government. So why not invest money on issues that would prove essential to people? In conclusion, I believe that governments must avoid taking part in irrelevant issues such as art and try to attain better results in public services offered to their people.