Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all the times, even on holidays. Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

It is an important part of any job to have a stable infrastructure to stay in communication with colleagues. Especially, its importance has increased more during the Covid-19 pandemic, when everyone in the staff is working from home. Being able to contact your team representative at all times has its merits and demerits. In the following paragraphs, we will be discussing the benefits and shortcomings of both aspects. The nature of work plays an important role in deciding whether representative of a team need to be in touch at all times or not. For instance, in the fields of defence, engineering, retail, and so forth, the staff is required to be in communication with each other even on holidays because of the nature of work and the risk associated with it. An engineer working at a Nuclear Reactor site has to be in constant touch with his staff members to look after the site to avoid any kind of emergency situation. In such cases, being able to connect with anyone among the team representative is a great advantage. On the other hand, in some professions, it is not necessary to be connected with the staff members all the time because of difference in requirements and there is no inherent risk associated with the role. However, there are some employers who misuse this development in their favour to get some more tasks done out of their employees by making them work on weekends or during vacations. In such situations, this idea would act against the staff members as a disadvantage to them. It could have major negative implications on their healths and could increase dissatisfaction among them toward their job. To conclude, it depends upon the nature of the job and the risk associated with it to decide which development would be needed in any given situation. As both ways have their merits and demerits, the preference should be given to the one which is required by the profession and should not be imposed unnecessarily on the staff members.