Meat production requires relatively more land than crop production. Some people think that as land is becoming scarce, the world's meat consumption should be reduced. What measures could be taken to reduce the world's meat consumption? What kinds of problem might such measures cause?

Agriculture has two main produce: Meat and crops. Each of the aforementioned produce requires land to be produced, specifically the production of meat, as it relatively requires more land than the production of crops. Nowadays, empty land is slowly running out and as such, some believe that the world’s consumption of meat is should require reductions, the measures to reduce meat consumption will be introduced in this essay. A solution that first comes to the minds of many is switching people’s eating habits. Instead of consuming meat, people could shift toward consuming vegetables, and as crop production require less land than meat production, there is enough land to satisfy the needs of many people. However, this measure has an extremely serious downside, as the nutrients contained in meat products have been proven by scientists and widely accepted as essential to a human’s development, the elimination of meat from one’s diet is exceedingly harmful to their body. Another solution that comes to mind is utilizing vertical farms. Vertical farms are farms that are constructed on top of buildings, as such they won’t take up more land. However, there is simply not enough funds needed to build and provide maintenance for a large number of these structures, a clear evident for this is the absence of such establishments in many cities all over the world. A final solution for this issue that one may think of is to simply revamp used land for agricultural purposes. Nowadays, there are many plots of land that are abandoned, polluted and heavily contaminated from human activities and as such, they should be restored and repurposed for various means, meat production is one of those means; therefore, less or none of unused land is saved from being used. However, similar to the second solution, this solution will require a considerable sum of capital. To sum up, though there have been measures thought of by many people, there has not been a full-proof solution to the dilemma of high meat consumption. Regardless, experts and scientists are still in the pursuit of an effective measure against this problem.