Interviews form the basic selection criteria for most longer companies. However, some people think that an interview is not a reliable method of choosing whom to employ and there are other better methods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent days, most of the larger companies and corporations consider interviews are the best suitable method for hiring employees. Although interviews are good, l opine that alternative methods can also be effective in the selection process. Admittedly, most companies opt for interviews as selection criteria while deciding candidates for new positions. This is because through interviews an employer can easily identify the job seekers distinct talents such as communication, academic and social skills which are imperative while employing inside an organisation. For instance, if a candidate is socially introverted, that will affect his/ her performance in the interview. That's why it is chosen as one of the quality methods. On the other hand, there are alternative methods to think. Firstly, nowadays several organisations think of written tests which stand one position higher than interviews. In other words, written tests accurately help in assessing candidates academic brilliance than any other form of assessment. Usually, written tests are conducting in an environment where there is a limited chance of making cheating or any type of malpractices. Another way of selection commonly adopted in big companies is the reference test. Through reference tests, the employer can easily understand applicants professional as well as criminal records which will help to place the productive workers. In conclusion, even though interviewing candidate help in identifying the academic skills, l agree that combining an interview with other selection strategies such as written test and reference test will benefit more the company in hiring highly talented professionals.