Tourism today creates a variety of problems, such as pollution due to flights, transport and dirty water. Do you think that governments should impose extra taxes on flights or accommodation to restrict today’s tourism industry?

In these contemporary days, an ever-increasing tourism has made whole world a global village; however, it has brought numerous dire consequences including burgeoning of pollution owing to air and road transport and polluted water. In order to control it, It is believed by a vast section of the society that the tariffs should be introduced by authority on flights or accommodation. I strongly agree with this view and in my discourse ahead, the ideas in favor of my belief are discussed. To begin with, it seems obvious to see that extra tax on air tickets would restrict air travelling. This is because the final cost to passengers for air journey will be higher if government impose more taxes. Resultantly, people's preference to go overseas during holidays would be changed and they prefer to visit local tourist attractions which ultimately would reduce serious effects of it on environment. For example, as per report published in the Toronto Times in 2019 Singapore airlines imposed 15% tax on domestic airlines which had reduced air travelling by 30% compared to previous year. Thus, government's initiative by enforcing taxes would restrict tourism. Additionally, another prominent measure to control tourists' movement at tourist places is additional charges by local bodies on accommodation. In other words, due to extra charge, visitors will have to pay more to enjoy at tourist places. This would certainly restrict movement of international and local guests' preference to various places which ultimately reduced unwanted outcomes. A best illustration is the Canada government started to charge additional 20% tax on all luxurious hotels at tourist places which has restricted tourism by 15% which has curtail water pollution. Thus, the stringent measure by government can minimize adverse effects of tourism. In conclusion, while the growth in tourism industry has numerous unequivocal positives, according to me, I think to curb its inevitable impacts to environment, the government should start to charge more to air tickets and bookings at tourist attractions.