People living in large cities today face many problems in their everyday life. What are these problems? Should governments encourage people to move to smaller regional towns?

The overgrowth of the population in megacities brings on a wide range of everyday problems that people living in those places have to cope with. In this essay, I will discuss two major issues that stand out the most and explain why relocating people to small-town areas is an essential and feasible solution. To begin with, in recent years, a massive number of rural immigrants who are in pursuit of employment opportunities have flocked to and then settled in major cities. This rapid growth in population places a significant burden on the infrastructure of these cities and leads to road congestion and environmental pollution problems. For example, in densely populated cities such as Beijing or Ho Chi Minh City, traffic jams become more frequent in peak hours due to the increasing number of vehicles. As a result, urban dwellers usually have to inch along to get away from the terrible traffic. In addition, the burgeoning of car ownership also aggravates air pollution because of the number of exhaust fumes released into the atmosphere from petrol-driven vehicles. Based on the issues mentioned above, I agree that governments should motivate people to move to smaller regional areas. Firstly, many people love to live in big cities because they believe that there will be more chances to land a well-paid job. Therefore, governments should introduce incentives for companies to shift their offices or factories to regional towns to generate more fulfilling jobs for residents. Secondly, authorities may consider investing more money in the infrastructure and facilities of these towns, such as building convenient shops or upgrading existing road systems, thus improving the quality of life for people and turning them into worth-living places. Finally, more people moving away from large cities means reducing traffic volume, which could also help improve the air quality in urban zones. In conclusion, although city residents face many problems every day, the authorities can implement many policies to encourage people to live in suburbs or rural areas, contributing to easing the pressure on major cities.