Some employers offer their employees subsidized membership of gyms and sports clubs, believing that this will make their staff healthier and thus more effective at work. Other employers see no benefit in doing so. Consider the arguments from both aspects of this possible debate, and reach a conclusion.

Almost all companies now offer free or subsidized health center onsite for their employees. They hope that this would improve the general well-being of the employee and would thereby improve the quality of their work. However, some organizations believe that there are no benefits in providing workers such an option. In this essay I ll describe why some companies consider this as a good solution while others don't. First of all, an employer is partly responsible for their employee's health. Almost all jobs nowadays are stressful, having an option of spending time at the gym or at a sports club will reduce the pressure and elevate the worker's mood. Furthermore, an onsite workout facility would help with the post-lunch lethargy that many of us are affected by. Research indicates such sluggishness could be overcome by exercising, even if only for a short time. On the other hand, management needs to consider their liability with such facilities. Especially in an onsite facility, the company might be liable if a worker injures themselves. Additionally, it could also be considered that exercise is a personal issue. This means that despite the company taking steps, they cannot force anyone to take care of themselves, it is supposed to be an internal effort. Under these circumstances, providing a subsidized option might not be attractive to all employers. In conclusion, employers consider many factors, like stress-relief and invigoration while being lethargic, to sponsor gym and sports clubs to their employees. At the same time, some employers may think that its not beneficial, considering that exercise comes from individual effort and to avoid any liability. Despite the demerits, organizations should offer such choices at a discount, since it will definitely improve the employee's well-being, thereby helping the overall productivity.