Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Nowadays all the people have their own car because during the last thirty years the purchase of cars is sharply increased and this is the cause of the intensive traffic in many cities. In this essay, I will explain my opinion and then I try to give some possible solutions to overcome the problem. Firstly, I think that having your own car can be really usefull due to the fact that you can move wherever you want, in addition, if you live in a remote area where the public transports are insufficent you need a transport for moving and the car can be a solution. Although the car make the owner indipendent from public trasports transport, the traffic in the city is stressfull and the goverment has to find a solution. For examples, the public transport could improve the efficency of buses,trams or undergrounds for encouraging people to choose them as alternative way of moving. For examples, living in Milan, I experienced that in some hours during the day we can not drive the car because the time for arriving in a place can be threefold increased and for this reason I usually walk or I rent a bike-sharing for long distances. In conclusion, I think that having a car can be comfortable because you can be indipendent, on the contrary there is a problem of traffic, expecially in some cities, where you can not move in severel hours of the day. However the goverment could encurage people using the public transports or improving alternative way of moving as bike-sharing.