Some people believe that time spent on television, video and computer games can be beneficial to children. Others believe this has negative effects on a child. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Visual entertainment is becoming an integral part of everyone's life. It is often thought that spending more screen time is advantageous for adolescent children. However, others believe that such a medium is causing a bad effect. In this essay, I will discuss the reason for their views and explain why I feel it to be a negative trend. Certain features of technology-driven gadgets are important to be known to the next generation. As the future is going to be technology-driven, and everyone spends their leisure period with these gadgets, it is expected from a child to be aware of, in terms of how to use it? TCS, for instance, developing new games which will teach Mathathematics to school students in the form of games. Therefore, these games are developing interest in them for study. Admittedly, spending too many hours on these gadgets will have negative effects. The main one is in terms of health. A human being develops most of its body cells in its young stage, and exposure to screen for more than a specified hour can have a deteriorating effect on the eyes and also cause obesity. In an Oxford study, Although the average screen time for the age group of 8 to 18 years is 5 hours, most people spend more than that. In addition, body movements are also limited which causes obesity at the early stage of their life. In my view, although, it is important to be aware of new technology, it is causing a bad effect on health. So, it should be practice to limit the time spent by the young age group. In conclusion, most people spend their duration in front of technology-driven apparatus. Even though it may have a benefit for the future of the young generation, this can cause more problems in terms of health.