Some people think that all University students should study whatever they like.others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful, such as those related to science and technology.

Different subjects are needed for different professions, it depends on the interests and the future plans of the pupil. A lot of people opines that only subjects that are useful should be chosen at universities for example science and technology, on the contrary there’s beliefs that one should study whatever they want in university. I agree that there’s a lot of benefits from choosing what they love in university, in the following paragraphs I will explain why so. Firstly no one can live your life, only you get to live the life you want to. Hence choosing what you want in life plays a crucial part to live a successful life. Secondly studying something you have zero interests in can have a negative impact on mental health as well as on physical health. For instance, having interest in dancing but having to study pre med in university, can cause a lot of distress to the student. Also it’s my belief that every individual is different in their own unique way so, forcing them to study subjects they have no care for can have detrimental effect on the over all grades. Some having to quit due to bad grades. Which might cause conflict within oneself also with the loved ones. Moreover there are a lot of other fields, that does not require special science subjects to have a blast of a career. For example to be a successful football player you don’t have to study medicine in university. To summarise, even though science and technological fields are vast and ever changing, just like how we pick clothes we like, subjects chosen at university should be the ones that are interesting and should be about what you are passionate about.