As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What are the factors that contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

In this day and age, more and more people have a tendency to prioritise job satisfaction and consider it as a key element in their life. This essay is going to show some main components supporting work contentment and analyse an unrealistic view of the hope for all workers career satisfaction. To begin with, two key elements for a satisfied career are believed to be achievements and job environments. Firstly, it is acknowledged that achievement plays an extremely necessary role in career life. Having goals, targets or promotions in work can boost employees’ motivation, leading to harder and more effective results. To be more specific, if people have to work without having any advancement, it is easy to lose satisfaction and passion in their career and they may not stay with the job or the company. Secondly, the job environment is also argued to be one of the most prioritised elements. While working in a strict and competitive atmosphere can cause a plethora of pressure and stress, doing that in a friendly and open one will be much more comfortable and enjoyable. For example, numerous entertaining props and rooms are prepared for workers to decompress, thus, they can be more pleased and creative at work. However, it is impossible to please the career contentment of all employees. The first rationale for this is that criterias for a dream work are different among workers. Some people prefer having a well-paid job, some believe a comfortable and stable job is superior or some even consider being famous in their career is the optimal choice. Therefore, it is unrealistic for employers or the government to content everyone’s expectations in work. Additionally, difficulties in work are another point supporting this view. GIven that each job has its own drawbacks and even challenges, it is obvious for workers to be under pressure and overcome it sometimes. For instance, it is extremely stressful for celebrities such as Taylor Swift or Selena Gomez to read negative assumptions and news about them on a daily basis. In conclusion, it is essential to strengthen and enrich career contentment so that not only the company but also the government should support and encourage workers. Thus, everyone will be more satisfied and the working results will also be improved.