A “cashless society” is one where people use debit/credit cards and other forms of payment. Do the advantages of a cashless society outweigh the disadvantages?

A cashless mode of payments by using an electronic forms of money is highly popular in the current society. This essay will discuss how the merits of a being a society without physical cash can surpass its disadvantages. On the one hand, a potential demerit of being a cashless society is a significant increment in the money spent. It means when a person do not actually realize the amount he should spend since a transaction can be made by just a click of a button and no physical cash is transferred. As a result, people end up making a lot of transcations which they realize at the end of the month when a crdit card bill is generated. For instance, shopping online has become a frequent habit of a current society in which 99% money transactions are executed online which provides comfort to a buyer and encourage him to keep on spending even on worthless items. On the other hand, there are numerous advantages of cashless society. Firstly, money is no more required to be carried in a physical form. It means electronic money transfer is now available everywhere which has drasctically reduced a hassle of caarrying hard money. As a result, multiple money transactions can be made based on the balance the account of a user and not on the cash he is carrying. Secondly, the probability of money lost and theft is entirely eliminated. For instance, when if a credit card or debit card is stolen, it can be blocked by a respective bank with just a single call and no money would be lost whereas carrying physical money always have risk of being stolen. Hence, the benefit of cashless society is undeniably higher than their demerits. Conclusively, although cashless society may spend unnecessarily higher than they need, it is undoubtedly a safer mode to carry money and allow user to make numerous money transactions. Therefore, Cashless society may have some demerits, its countless advantages certainly surpass its demerits.