People are consuming more and more sugar-based drinks. Why? What can be done to reduce sugary drink consumption?

Consumption of drinks which are high in sugar content is gaining popularity. In this essay, I will be discussing some of the major causes and possible solutions to combat this problem before arriving at a conclusion. One of the principal reasons why there is an increase in consumption of such is the effectiveness of advertisements. For example, Coca-Cola, which is a well-known brand of soft drink, uses celebrities to market their products. Because of this, their avid supporters will tend to buy the product regardless of taste. In addition, consumers tend to buy items that are inexpensive. A bottled lemonade in the supermarket, for instance, would only cost about Php50 in the Philippines. If the price does not change, will continue to purchase it because it would not damage their budget. Consequently, they do not realize that they are frequently including it in their groceries. However, there are some suggestions to alleviate this problem. First, the government should impose stricter laws that limit taking unhealthy drinks. For instance, professionals can recommend the allowable amount of intake per week of sugar-based drinks for a certain age group. Second, there should be a regular increase in the price of these products. The reason for this is, it can hinder buyers from choosing these. Moreover, the tax collected can be allocated for programs that promote a healthier lifestyle. In summary, more individuals are ingesting sweet drinks because of the low price in the market and effective advertisements. Although, there are methods on how to lessen it by not only consistently increasing the price of the products but also creating stricter measures.