In some countries, the government has tried to reduce traffic. For instance, they imposed a congestion tax during rush hour. Do you think this development is positive or negative?

When it comes to peak hours, traffic congestion on the roads is inevitable. Governments in multiple countries have started to charge commuters during rush hour in order to minimize traffic. However, I believe that this could some detrimental effects on the population. Despite the fact that it is beneficial for the authorities, it cannot be neglected that this development could disrupt the economic stability of road users. Since they are already contributing to road taxes, congestion pricing would then be too overwhelming for them to bear. In addition, due to their job requirements, some people are compelled to travel during peak hours of the day. So, it is unfair for them as they cannot avoid travelling. For instance, wholesalers that deliver goods across the country are penalized for they need to use main roads to get to their destinations. Consequently, many commuters will suffer in the long run. Introducing this tax, not only affects people's lives but it is also non-sustainable in terms of reducing the traffic. There is still no evidence that shows that this mechanism is really viable on a long term basis. However, other measures could be taken such as improving road system and shared transportation. On the other hand, these congestion taxes could consequently be a source of a financial burden,especially during these recent years. In conclusion, I reckon the government should seek another way to eliminate traffic jams as this one can have severe consequences on the economy of the country itself. They should find a solution where each person is willing to comply.