Science can now offer people a life expectancy of close to one hundred years or even more. Some people view it in a positive light, but others believe it creates some problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The increase in lifespan has sparked an endless debate of advantages and disadvantages of this progress. Some sections are highly optimistic about it whereas others opine that the downsides outweighs the advantages. According to me, human life expectancy should not increase any further. The rapid developments in the field of medical sciences have to the exponential rise in the run of human life. The upside of this evolution is that as people are living longer lives they have the opportunity of spending more time with their families which was not possible earlier due to their commitments as working professionals. Retired persons also enjoy the freedom to travel worldwide and fulfill their bucket lists. They are capable of guiding the younger generations, advice them and help them during their crucial age. For instance, my maternal grandmother celebrated her 81st birthday this year. She has travelled all over India and also ventured on international tours to Singapore, Bangkok, Malaysia and Dubai. She is able to spend her time pursuing activities she enjoys. The rapid inflation in life span has forced healthy older indiviuals to work and earn a living. This means that they occupy employment opportunities which could have been pursued by younger generations. A human has a few basic needs of food, water, clothing, shelter, etc. Fulfilling these needs of the ever expanding human race is a burdensome task for the environment and the increased life span has made its contributions to add to it. This has led to decline in the quality of existence. The enhancement in the lifetime is not sufficient as the basic standard of living and independence of every human has to be maintained. This becomes a herculean task for older people as the declining body functionings give way to limited movements, easily contracted illnesses, limitations in treatment options which implies that the person will suffer many hardships. For example, my paternal grandmother, suffered a hip injury after she fell in the bathroom. She is bedridden since then. Her quality of life has declined dramatically since the. And an independent woman like would not have wished or imagined such a downfall. To conclude, it is a feather in mankind's cap that the lifespan has risen, but extension of life beyond this will cause innumerable issues which are not answerable as of now.