Unemployment remains the biggest challenge to school-leavers in most countries. How far do you agree with this assessment? What are other challenges face by young people today?

Due to the advent of technology, the momentum of the world's development is extremely rapid, having both positive and negative impacts on society. It undoubtedly raises living standards as well as business industry, however, this results a more competitive world with limited job prospects especially for school-leavers. Personally, I totally agree that unemployment has become an obstacle for those who have left behind education at an early age. In addition to this, this essay will also discuss about other concerns that youngsters encounter nowadays. Unfortunately, it is impossible to secure a job for school-leavers as the modern job pool is extremely challenging. Recruiters of most companies look for employees with a degree and some years of experience, which means only graduates from prestigious university will likely to be employed. Thus, school-leavers with no prior experience are usually placed on the bottom of shortlist when even college graduates have a slight chance to get a job, Moreover, the fact that schools do not teach essential skills to school-leavers is also another reason of youth unemployment. To give a further explanation, most schools only emphasize on academic sector, which is not helpful for job security, instead of educating students on considerably important traits. Consequently, most school-leavers are incompetent in the workplace, causing a company chaos. Alongside to reasons, adolescents also confront other issues such as financial, social and family problems as well as frauds and discrimination. All of them are beyond their control and ability to deal with a consequence of mental and physical illness. Research has revealed that the vast majority of young people suffer from depression and the rate of suicide commitment has increased every year. Some youths with no job become thugs, drug dealers and sexual workers as they think they will earn more income easily if they pursue this field of career. In conclusion, getting a job is a barrier that school-leavers struggle most to overcome these days. Besides, they are also challenged by other problems such as social unrest and discrimination which have detrimental effects on them.