Some people think all university student should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is often believed that students should learn topics in higher education which are beneficial in the future. However, some considerable arguments are made against this idea. This essay discusses the debate and give a concluding view. On the one hand, those who support the idea of studying subjects that are useful in the future cite the various benefits that such a decision can bring to students. One of the significant arguments is that knowledge required in the future can be taught from curriculums designed by pedagogical experts in university education. They firmly argue that the content of courses taught in university not only can students’ knowledge and skills boost for living in the future but also it can enhance students’ potential to future career progression. By contrast, opponents of this view point out that students should choose a special field of study in higher education based on their tendency, ability, and genius. They pay more attention to the talent and creativity of pupils, and they really claim that if an individual does not have interest and capacity to learn a special subject in college, she/he cannot be successful in the future, even if the field of study is related to the labor market. Overall, it seems logical that student’s study in a specific field in university education should be based on different parameters such as interest, ability, and creativeness. However, it is unavoidable that student have a look at labor market demand when they decide about their major in higher education to avoid knowledge and skill mismatch in their future jobs.