Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

Compared to ancient times, the way businesses operate have certainly changed. Due to the nature of some businesses, employees need to reply to their bosses’ inquiries regardless of the hour. Although it has various advantages, there are a few notable disadvantages tailored to it. This essay will elucidate both aspects with an explanation for each of them. Firstly, the advantage for immediate contact to personnel in selected industries is that the brand image is maintained. For example, at internet service providing companies, it is crucial to sustain the service level as they are providing service to customers with a service uptime agreement. To keep customer satisfaction and loyalty to brand, fast and prompt action is the key. Therefore, once there is an alert for impact on link, managers may need to contact the designated officer to solve the problem as soon as possible. Despite this, there are some significant disadvantages for staff to be working on their free time. First of all, it creates minimal work-life balance for working individuals if they are to be contacted outside of regular working hours. During the weekday evenings, weekends, and holidays people should have the privilege to enjoy their leisure time. Moreover, this phenomenon imposes that some corporate employees are working extra hours which is not fair for them. Everyone deserves equal work rights no matter the industry they are employed in. To conclude, although there are obvious benefits for the employers, drawbacks for workers are not to be ignored. Compensation should be in place for individuals working overtime to ensure fairness.