Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It has been seen that personal information of a person applying for a job is being asked by employers. It is opined by some people that this information can be relevant and useful, however, others do not agree with this. Following paragraphs will provide merits and demerits of this information. From my perspective, limited personal data should be collected. To commence with, collecting data such as person's hobbies, interests, marital status will help the organisation to make and implement new policies. It has been often observed that organisation do not value their employees by implementing a policy which is of no use to majority of the staff. By asking personal information, employer can make policy which will be beneficial for majority of the staff. Furthermore, it helps employer to judge the person evaluating its hobbies and interests and also, it will help to know that person is truth or lie. The higher management has often find it difficult to judge a person in first meet. Asking personal information provides the person's insights, for instance, hobbies of a person will guide employers that person is utilising leisure time in a constructive way or not. On the other hand, taking personal information can be discriminatory from the perspective of prospective employee. A person should be judged on the basis of academic qualifications, ethics, and work experience irrespective of the fact that person is married or single. Mostly females feel offended by providing this information as it has been found that employers need married person as person will stay in long run and will not ask for holidays at the time of person's wedding. In addition to that, there is no use of asking a person's hobbies as it will not provide any useful information to management. In a nutshell, asking for personal information can be relevant only if limited information is asked that can help the organisation to form a decision which can be fruitful for for both the employer and employee. Having said that, this information should not be disclosed to outsider.