Some people think that there are things individuals can do to help prevent global climate change, others believe that action by individuals is useless and irrelevant and that it is only governments and large business can make a difference. Discuss both views and opinions.

A segment of society believes that common people can contribute a lot towards environmental changes. Whereas, others argue that endeavours by the public is a waste and solely the government and multinational firms can mitigate the issue. I, agree with the latter view due to certain reasons which will be explicated further. In lieu of the former view, the role of citizens to curb the issue is paramount. Indeed, the usage of the resources entirely lies in the hands of people. If they stop using things that have a detrimental impact on the climate then the problem can be ameliorated to a great extent. For example, usage of bicycle for short-distance commuting not only saves fuels, but is also an eco-friendly mode. Ergo, plantation of trees, up-gradation of the domestic appliances and many other small changes which can be incorporated into everyday life to reduce the pollution level. Thus, the person efforts also play a key role in fighting the issue of global warming. On the contrary, the first and foremost reason to support the latter view is that most of the pollutants are emitted by the industries and business owners can install the plants equipped with the latest technology. As a result of this, fewer amount hazardous gases and toxins is emitted into the environment causing minimal pollution. However, the role of governing bodies is crucial in the protection of the climate. There are several laws that will be passed and stringently implemented by the higher official authorities in favour of environmental changes such as Water Protection Act 1953 to reduce water pollution. Hence, recent technology and stringent laws both play an indispensable role in solving the issue. In compendium, the government as well as industrialists coupled with public can save and protect environmental changes by reducing pollution.