People are consuming more and more sugar-based drinks. Why? What can be done to reduce sugary drink consumption?

It is observed that nowadays many individuals prefer to intake sugary drinks. This essay will discuss the causes behind it as well as some steps which can be taken to minimize the consumption of this type of drinks. On the one hand, there are a number of reasons behind significant rise in consuming sugar based beverages. Mainly, the companies are following heavy marketing policy for promoting their product with misleading information which is mainly targeting youth and child. Not only young generation but also all age group are attracted to the advertisement and become addicted to the soft drink. Moreover, this kind of drink instantly boosts energy level as it has high level of sucrose. For instance, many people who have target oriented job prefer to drink it because they think while drinking soft drink focus in work increases. For aforesaid problems, numerous approaches can be taken to reduce the intake of sweetened drinks. Firstly, government should take steps to control the situation through introducing high tax on these items which might be an effective solution. For example, authority implemented heavy tax on tobacco products. Secondly, health awareness programs on TV and social media could help in combating the advertisement for soft drinks by marketing agencies. Furthermore, vending machines must be removed from public places like schools, bus stations, hospitals, cinemas for discouraging the consumption of sugary drinks. In conclusion, although several reasons are there to drink more soft drinks, there are various measures that could be taken to discourage people from it.