Nowadays children watch a lot of TV and play video games. However, some people think that activities are not good for a child’s mental health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Children spend too much time watching television and playing games on the internet. Some people believe that these kinds of activities have an adverse impact on their brains. I completely agree with this statement because TV or computer can leads to a sedentary lifestyle and depression to children. Overconsumption of gadgets like smartphones, laptops or computers can make children lazy and unhealthy because staring several hours on the screen means no other body movement, which means they do not play outdoor games that are indispensable for the mental development. As a result, it can give rise to various health-related problems. For instance, According to the survey done by a newspaper ‘ Times India’ children who spend maximum time on internet have less intellual skills compares to those who play outdoor games, hence it can cause impaired brain development. Sitting in front of computers for a long time can cause depression, loneliness and mental sickness as in some video games, the contents are sensitive enough to make suicidal thoughts in children's minds. This is because when children see their favourite characters are fighting in the game, they try to intimate them. For example, many children jumper from the roof after playing World of War Craft game on the internet. Therefore, I believe that overconsumption of video games is dangerous for their health, so it should be used in moderation. In conclusion, overconsumption of the internet is not a good idea because it has a negative effect on children's mental health also prevents them from getting enough exercise and they should therefore only be used sparingly.