Many cities have serious problems with traffic congestion? What are the causes of these problems? What are some possible solutions?

Nowadays more and more cities suffer from overcrowding and traffic jams, making life and everyday tasks longer and more complicated. In my view this happens due to poor public transport system and inaccurate time management, consequently improving these issues would be the best solution. First of all many metropolises don't feature a well organised and capillar public transportation so that workers and families rely on private means such as caro or scooter to accomplish their daily tasks. For example sicilian cities are particularly affected by traffic congestion owing to the lack of buses, metro and so on. What is more an inaccurate time management is even more detrimental for cities viability, in other words opening schools, shops and offices at the same moment make things even worse. As a matter of fact governments and local councils should take actions to improve these two aspects to tackle the problem of roads congestion. Evidently investing more on public transportation, increasing the number of means, making them more frequent and covering city centre as well as the outskirts could easily improve the situation. An example of this comes from Scandinavian countries where people rarely use private means and traffic flows smoothly. Undoubtedly delaying opening and closing hours of schools, amenities and workplaces would decrease the pressure on motorways due to a reduced number of contemporary circulating cars. To conclude traffic congestion is an ongoing issue of modern cities caused by low investments and poor management that could be easily tackled with prompt actions such as an improved public transport system and a better time management.