The free movement of goods across national borders has long been a controversial issue. Some people argue that it is necessary for economic growth, while others claim that it damages local industries. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

International trading becomes possible in the globalisation era, although raising some disputed problems. Many individuals believe that a free market can be a good stimulation to the economic development of a country, while some think it will eliminate the local business slowly. From my point of view, I would argue that cross border trading can benefit the customer since it pushes the producers to scale up their competitiveness. First of all, it is generally believed that technological advancement allows customers to buy something from other countries easily. Many products can be bought through an online platform system using only fingertips. Some online marketplaces are competing with each other and caught in a price war to attract customers. Thus, it is considered as a blessing for some customers since they can obtain wish-listed products at affordable prices. On the other hand, free and open markets may eliminate the rise of local industries since they face huge competition from famous companies worldwide. If the government does not realise this issue, the local producers will only be a viewer in their own country. Hence, some regulations should be made and implemented to ensure the local citizens actively participate in this trading environment. As far as I am concerned, this trading condition offers some benefits to many parties regarding its flexibility and quality improvement. Consumers can easily promote their products through marketplaces like Shopee, Tokopedia, Lazada, and so on, although they have to increase the quality of their products to maintain their position in the market. In conclusion, both claims have their own arguments about the arising issues from international trading practice recently. To a certain extent, I believe that all stakeholders may have advantages if they can manage this technology change positively.