Today we can see excessive consumption of natural resources such as air, fresh water, oil and so on. The usage is increasing at a very dangerous pace and is already reaching critical levels. What are the reasons contributing to this? What should be done to minimise the effects?

Excessive over-exploitation of fossil fuels, potable water and the air is seen from the last decade. The rate of consumption is rising in an unsustainable manner and already exceeding the carrying capacity. This essay will explore both the causes and remedial measures in alleviating the situation. To begin with, the prime factor leading to the over-exhaustion of resources is over-population. The global population is growing at a fast pace and reached the mark of 6 billion in the year 2019. More people require more resources, therefore, our primitive reserves are on the verge of depletion. In addition, an individual's negligence and over-usage are elevating the situation. For instance, In the year 2015, India became a water-stressed nation and a report y Niti Aayog revealed that major reasons are over-population and folks neglecting attitude towards saving the precious freshwater resource. On the other hand, proper implementation of awareness camps and stringent regulations by the authority can alleviate the situation. The government needs to be aware people towards the alarming circumstance. For example, the government can create awareness through commercials on television, establishing a separate natural resource conservation department and also, by celebrating important environmental days, because human survival is not possible without these essential reserves. In addition, certain laws such as fines should be enforced against the polluters, so that folks save the environment in fear of paying extra money. To conclude, these days the world is facing the problem of over-exploitation of our primitive and life-saving resources. The rate of exhaustion is so fast that our near future generation will not be able to see these if some sustainable steps would not have been taken. The main reasons for arising the problem are the growing population and carelessness attitude of human beings. Therefore, It is the duty of the government to take some marginal steps in order to save the earth, otherwise, if the present scenario continues, the end of the world is near.