Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

The possession of luxuries items among citizens, such as car, has showed rapid growth during the past decades. The major reason is that several individuals prefer to live luxury lifestyles and seek for ultimate conveniences. Therefore, cities all over the globe have encountered the problem of road congestion. In general, this is an urgent issue that government must take control immediately. According to current situation, the number of cars has gradually risen every year. becoming a group of traffic jam, this concern is extremely intense especially in metropolitan cities. In city like Bangkok, almost everyday after 5 p.m. when most workers have finished their jobs, the traffic starts to accumulated Change the form of the verb accumulate show examples. This situation even worst when there are accident and weather condition, such as heavy raining. In addition, the large number of cars lead to long-term environmental issues, such as carbon emissions and scarcity of natural resources. Increase on taxes and improvement of public transportation are essential measures that government need to take action. The authorities set limitation on number of car that each person can own. Then, if excessive vehicle is needed, extra taxes can be charged. Additionally, the rise in price of oil has possible chance of reducing uses of car as well. Consequently, the extravagant cost in car usage able to discourage majority of the citizens. Another solution is to encourage people to use public transportation. These methods can mitigate the on going problem of traffic jam in various countries because there are fewer cars on the roads. Moreover, car pool is also effective methods, which gathered strangers with the same destinations.