As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Most people spend a major part of their adult life at work; therefore, job satisfaction is an important element of individual well-being. There are various factors that make a job satisfactory for an employee, but sometimes their expectations can be unrealistic as they don’t realize them while working. There are various factors that make a job satisfactory. First and foremost, the important thing that leads to job satisfaction is being compensated fairly; similarly, granting the stipends, annual bonuses or allowances motivate the employees to remain committed to an organization. Furthermore, when the tools needed to perform the daily tasks are not only available but also up-to-date, it brings about out the best productivity. Another factor that leads to a fulfilling task is the working environment, a suitable work environment will make employees perform their duties more efficiently. However, the expectation of achievement for all employees is not feasible. This is because most employees expect very high returns with regards to what their job requires them to do. As a consequence, when these expectations are not met, they start to feel disappointed in most cases. When they start to feel disappointed at one company, they start looking for jobs at other companies to fulfil their desires and expectations and hence keep changing companies every few years. In conclusion, higher pay and work environment are key elements that determine whether an individual will be or not satisfied with their job role and even though their expectations are often high, employees don’t realize them while working.