Because of the global economy, many goods including what we use as daily basics produced by other countries have to be transported for a long distance. To what extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Due to the concept of globalisation there has been an increase in trade between countries across the globe, and as a result of nations opening up their market for foreign business, individuals are exposed to items produced in other countries, even in the daily basic products. Although, there are some disadvantages for such a system, the pros outweigh the cons by a large extent. Compared to the old days, now we are having more choices for the same commodity, from different manufacturers across the globe, hence there is an increase in competition among the companies to provide better products to customers. For example, earlier in India there were only a few automotive manufacturers like HM and Tata, but after the 1990s when the market was opened up new vehicles with radical designs were introduced by companies like Hyundai and Ford. Secondly, people will be able to buy fruits and vegetables which are not locally cultivated. For example Dragon fruit, Plum, and Kiwi which were not available in India earlier are now available in most of the super markets. Finally, globalisation also allows local vendors to expand globally which allows them to boost their business, for instance American supermarket chain Walmart is now open in India as well. However, there are some cons in the concept of global economy, mainly the native and traditional items are often lost from market when people start moving towards more foreign products. Namely, with the advent of non native fruits in the market, some of the native fruits like Jamun and Guava have lost its place. Another main disadvantage is the amount of pollution that is caused by cargo planes and ships for the logistics of these products to different parts of the world. In summary, the world is now a global village where product native to one country is accessible to individuals in other parts of the world. There are some disadvatages to the concept of a global economy but the advantages outweigh the disadvantages by a large extent.