Many cities in the world are facing issues due to traffic congestion. Why is this happening? What can be done to improve the situation? Give reasons for your answers and include examples from your experience, related to your country.

Increasing traffic jams have been posing various threats to innumerable cities. The main reason for this is due to the lack of access to public transportation as well as improved life style of people these days. There are several measures that can be adopted for reducing the blockage on roads. Although, there are many reasons for the congestion on the roads, lack of access to public transport is the main issue. Not all places have bus-stops or taxi- stands, some people would have to walk miles to reach one. In many countries, there are metros, however, one has to use either a bus or a taxi to reach the station. Therefore, is results in longer traveling time when compares to driving to a destination, so most of them prefer their own transport. In addition to that, most of the people have better living conditions and they can afford one or more vehicles. Moreover, all the children once they reach 18 and above have a vehicle license as well. So even home makers who have learnt driving prefer dropping off their kids to school, in order to save their time. There are several ways to resolve their issues. Initially, providing greater access to public transports is a must. If the numbers of bus-stops, buses, feeder busses to metros and taxis are increased and their stoppages, it would be easier for people to use them. They need not walk longer and more buses would mean lesser travel route for one bus, thereby reducing the time to spend to reach destinations. Another method could be car-pooling or if companies could arrange pick-up and drop-off for all their employees, there would be lesser cars traveling to the same direction. For instance, if there are 10 employees from the same area and one van would be enough, instead of them traveling in ten different vehicles. In conclusion, the surge in choker blocked roads are due to the decline in use of public transport and the luxurious life style of people. This can be combated only if people are encouraged to travel by public transports or company vehicles.