Children who are brought up in families that do not have large amounts of money are better prepared to deal with the problems of adult life than children brought up by wealthy parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Without a doubt there are vast differences between well-to-do families and families who struggle day to day. This is especially apparent in children ’s development which manifest in their adulthood. For those who grew up in a comfortable home environment, they have more opportunities to develop their skills and confidence and can benefit from their parent’s extensive network. However, this is not always the case as money is not the only important factor; attitude places a part as well. Wealthy parents are able to send their children to enrichment classes that boost their skills and confidence. Enrichment classes are not necessary however the positive impacts of such classes drive parents to splurge on them. These positive impacts include excellent speaking ability, high levels of confidence and increased intellect. For example, children who go for expensive and well-known speech and drama classes regularly tend to achieve self-assurance and determination. Another example is when parents send children for additional tuition classes that raises their academic capability. When these children perform well academically, their certificates put them steps ahead of their peers. Hence, children in wealthy families have lower chances of battling challenges in their adulthood. Wealthy parents can use their influence and connections to their advantage by increasing their child’s prospects in their working life. Children of these parents are given better working opportunities for reasons such as a personal favour or business deals. For example, influential friends of wealthy parents may favour their children over other equally qualified candidates. This happens when parents communicate their intentions for their child to be given the opportunity and their request is obliged out of personal relations. This shows how good network breaks down barriers that children face when they are entering the working world as adults, therefore reaffirming the idea that wealth and connections have great benefits for children. Although money and wealth can prove to be life changing, attitude is equally, if not more, important. Children born with a silver spoon have been presented with opportunities and platforms that helps to get them to where they are throughout their entire life. Hard work and attitude draws the line between success and failure. One example to potray this situation is Warner in the movie legally blonde. He was built with a false sense of security as his family has always been successful and influential poleticians and yet he barely scrape through law school because he was not as hardworking and neither does he have the right attitude to succeed as a senator. This is a classic yet comical example that silver platters are not everything. Therefore children need much more than enrichment classes and network to overcome challenges when they are older. In conclusion it is true that money does make the world go round, the defining and differentiating factor will still be the attitude that one has towards life and the obstacles that they face.