Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Certain bodies argued that all university students should not have any boundaries to select their subject fields, whereas others argue that the majority of students must only learn subjects relating to science and technology. In my argument, although subject freedom will create a multi-talented community, subject restriction will reduce the career opportunities in the market, therefore I believe that students must have the freedom to select their own path. Through providing the freedom to select subjects, university students will benefit from several outcomes. Firstly, they have the space to choose what they desire to engage in the future. This will direct them to learn and explore new theories and strategies of various subject areas, and let them grab a more experiences in different industries. This results them to identify the best future career path while strengthening the country with multi-talented society. For instance, I had the opportunity to select my higher educational subjects without any restrictions and that makes me a successful accountant, who am I today. On the other hand, encouraging university students to learn only science and technology subjects will negatively affect society as well as the students. This will directly limit the number of job opportunities in the market due to a significant number of experts in the same industry. In addition, IT companies will reduce the employment salaries owing to the higher number of job applicants in the market. For instance, IT company called WSO2 has decreased their wages for Web Designers due to the high job demand. In my opinion, universities must allow their students to select their own subject stream without any restrictions. Nevertheless, universities should assist students to select the best study area according to their career goals. In conclusion, although providing opportunity to select their own subject area will aid both students and society, forcing to study in specific subjects will reduce the career openings. However, my opinion is, students should have the freedom to select their study areas under proper assistants.