Most employees do job interviews before offering position to a person. Do you think this is the best way to do it or are there better alternatives? What is the best method of choosing employer in your opinion?

The functioning of businesses has changed drastically over the past few years and so does the recruitment process. Some believe that the best approach is interviewing potential employees while others have arguments against this method or practice. In my opinion, job interviews along with initial training are the most effective methods. Generally, the recruiters hire the candidates by interviewing them about their personal and professional life. This helps them to create a first impression of the applicant. Also, this method gives employers a great opportunity to test the knowledge and problem-solving skills of future employees. However, this approach is often considered unreliable due to the fact that the competencies of a person cannot be evaluated in one meeting. Moreover, it sometimes leads to biased decisions. For example, it is commonly seen that interviewers are more inclined towards candidates that have the same opinion as them and may even reject other skilled interviewees. On the other side, there are also other approaches that a human resource department may consider while selecting employees. This includes initial training and performance evaluation before hiring an applicant. This will not only enable the organisation to evaluate the conceptual and technical skills but also help the prospective employee to understand their culture and work environment. For instance, most behavioural science organisations train and test their applicants to evaluate their capabilities. Thus, there are numerous approaches to make the best match for the job position. I believe that rather than just interviewing the individual, a recruiter should always employ methods that will also examine the candidate’s compatibility with the organisation by conducting performance evaluation tests.