In many countries, plastic containers have become more popular than ever. They are used in many businesses such as food and drink industry. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh its disadvantages?

In this day and age, it is true that plastic materials have been widely prevalent in every corner of the world. Many companies are using plastic for storing and transporting their products. From my perspective, I hold a strong conviction that the downsides of the given phenomenon far surpass its opposite sides. On the one hand, the merits of plastic products are significantly notable when it comes to convenience, and profit orientation for both customers and the business field. For beverage and foodstuff companies, plastic is an extremely cheap material to produce high-quality products with lower production costs which really helps them to reduce the prices of their products, approach more consumers and boost the profit on top. Regarding the customers, they tend to buy something that is the same size and shape as something they like but at lower prices, more fashionable and beautiful. For instance, teenagers want to buy some milk tea plastic cups with some eye-catching cartoon on it rather than on a glass cup with a monotonous shape. Moreover, these plastic cups will be easier to carry than glass ones. Despite the fact that it brings many benefits to human beings, however, we cannot deny the harm it brings to our environment. After usage, consumers throw away these containers, which are later eaten by stray and wildlife animals. Plastics also take a large amount of time to decompose, which causes a huge amount of waste. For example, nowadays, we can easily see a lot of plastic bottles or bags littered on the streets or on the beaches where we can see animals trapped by the piles of garbage that we release. As a result, this could lead animals and creatures all over our planet to the brink of extinction. In conclusion, while the enormous advantages that plastics bring to us cannot be denied, personally I believe that its demerits outweigh the merits.