Most high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 percent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. Do you agree or disagree?

For the time being, even though the rate of female workers has increased to over a half in developed nations, most top-level positions in corporations are still occupied by men. While some people claim that women should be promoted to hold these positions, I consider myself as an opponent of this idea as I believe that higher positions should be served by deserving people and should not be allocated based on gender. Without a shadow of doubt, higher positions in a company should not be based on gender, but qualifications, skills and aptitudes. This is because choosing people who cannot adapt to the working conditions would affect the company’s profit, productivity and the public image. For instance, in my father’s workplace, two women were promoted to a higher position just because of their relationship with the owner. However, within a few months, the manager still had to replace both of them with more qualified employees. Therefore, the company should always choose the best candidates to serve their pivotal positions regardless of gender. Notwithstanding reserving seats, girls should be motivated at school that they could also reach the supreme position at organizations. In other words, they should be trained in the skills such as leadership and decision-making process to make them work confidently along with the guys in any department ranging from banks to parliament. Hillary Clinton could be cited as a compelling example of a female politician holding leading positions with the virtue of their leadership qualities and decisiveness. Doubtlessly, women could also hold higher positions if they’re talented enough. In conclusion, I strongly believe that employees should be recruited according to their experiences, skills and talent. It is therefore recommended that women who want to play important roles in an organisation should gain those qualifications and skills. They should not be favoured only because of their gender.