Many crimes are often related to the consumption of alcohol. Some people think that the best way to reduce the crime rate is to ban alcohol. Do you think this is an effective measure against crime? What other solutions can you suggest?

It is often argued that alcoholic persons are most likely to commit crimes. Some people claim that banning the sale of liquor can be the ultimate solution to reduce the crime rate. In my opinion, I strongly believe that this decision will be not an effective solution to this problem but there are several approaches that should be applied to solve this issue. On the one hand, it is true that people under the influence of alcohol cannot think coherently and then they will have more probability to commit a violation and act not normally. As a result, if the sale of liquor will be banned, their consumption will be reduced and then multiples of lawlessness will be decreased, such as traffic crimes and domestic violence. However, in some cases, even if persons are not alcoholics, they are criminals because they suffer from moral depravity or ignorance, for,example terrorist attacks, in these situations banning or not,alcohol will behave a to not influence these violations because there are strong reasons for their incorrect behaviours. On the other hand, there are several approaches that should be taken in order to reduce the violation rate in society. Firstly, the majority of criminals are from poor backgrounds, then if the government would decrease the crime rate, it should increase the standard of living for all people by providing adequate education and opportunities of jobs for them. Therefore, they will ensure sufficient earnings for their life. Secondly, the government should help the population who are suffering from mental health issues by providing affordable counselling to them and adequate support to combat these mental disorders. In conclusion, although that banning liquor can reduce some crimes in the community,it is still not sufficient to combat this issue. I believe that making education affordable for all persons and offering them opportunities of working and also providing support and help for individuals who have mental disorders can be effective solutions to this problem.