Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own

While offering a job employers are obligated to ask for certain personal information. Some disagree, that it is relevant to the case, while some think such things are crucial to know in a process of employment. First of all, a provided essay will discuss both views, and secondly, I will give my own opinion. As some say, personal matters can mean a big deal in employment evaluation. For instance, married people may be in a process of creating a bigger family, which can mean becoming parents. As a result, they will not be able to attend work and will be forced to take maternity leave. It is in fact useful information to know for employers. Moreover, one's hobbies can also come as useful for a job. Meaning, if the position requires patience, one whose hobby is to solve puzzles in their free time, will be most likely to land the job. This shows that personal information becomes useful when it comes to acquiring workers. On the other hand, society often tries to keep their personal life and work separately. For example, one's interests may be connected to their family member. Therefore, this would mean revealing one's inner circle to the public, resulting in, displaying personal matters to strangers. In addition to that, an employee might be married to a member of an influential family, whose influence can be applied to every aspect of their lives. If the data is to be revealed, it will cause unnecessary talks between workers, and anxiety to the one who is being recruited. Conversely, sometimes getting personal material might cause more damage than expected and seem unuseful. In my opinion, recruiters should always ask for personal information, albeit they should be keeping it as privileged material, not to be revealed to others. In order to do that, both parties should be signing a legal document ensuring one's confidentiality and disclosure. To conclude, several views can be applied to a matter. One might keep their strong beliefs on personal data being irrelevant, meanwhile, others will be ready to present it in a blink of an eye. However, without a doubt, it is crucially beneficial and vital to employers to have access to such information.