Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

People witnessed that some employers pay more attention to formal qualifications over life experience in an employee's application. In my opinion, there are many reasons to explain this scenario, and it will have more of a negative impact on their benefits. There are two main reasons why academic results still get more preference from employers. Firstly, through an initial screening round, employers consider academic results as a straightforward component to assess candidate performance while it takes a longer time to review personal qualities. Second, some specific industries require candidates with strong technical skills that only formal education can equip such as engineering or tech fields. On the one hand, the overestimation of formal qualification proves that universities do a great job narrowing the gap between academic training and industry’s needs. It has been a concern of students finding that what they have learned is different from the scope of work in the working environment. Not taking personal life as a primary criteria builds the recruitment process more transparent without emotional effect in final decisions. On the other hand, there is no doubt that unfairness increases when employers look for academic achievement over hands-on experience and each individual’s character. Formal education is not accessible for everyone, because higher education is significantly not affordable in many countries. It is common to see that due to financial ability, students have to drop out of school to enter the working industry. which builds up their practical working experience more than fresh graduates. Moreover, fresh graduates who came out of excellent academic results might not prove their work ethic as good as those having working experience in their resume. In conclusion, it is a good sign to see that employers prefer academic qualifications over decision-making, but their drawbacks lay out other social issues that should be considered.