In many cities the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

In the world of the internet, the safety of a person must be the top priority in any situation. To decrease the rate of crime, most of the metropolitan cities have increased the amount of CCTV's at public locations while few citizens think that it creates a limitation for one's freedom. In my own point of view, the advantages do outweigh the disadvantages. It is commonly believed that, to decline the rate of crimes maximum cities have placed video cameras in their local areas. Furthermore, it reduces illegal activities and the percentage of murders in public places had fallen down gradually because it aids police officers to find the militants quickly. For instance, the number of accidents has reduced significantly, it helps to catch the offenders in supermarkets and malls. Therefore, video cameras play a massive role and give essential information. On the contrary, few residents believe that it is not correct to place CCTV's all over the city because it plunges an individual right and they can't spend quality time with their family members. Moreover, hackers can easily alter the CCTV which provides false information to the security and that leads to bad incidents. For example, introverts find it quite disturbing, that the government officials are sustainably watching our every moment and they become very anxious and uncomfortable walking on the roads. Hence, institutions should take all the factors into consideration before fitting CCTV. To summarize, there are some detrimental effects of surveillance cameras but there are many benefits. The major contribution is in the areas where our soldiers can't travel under emergency conditions this device helps to keep an eye on and give a report of the situation continuously.