As computers translate quickly and accurately, learning foreign languages is a waste of time? To what extend do you agree or disagree.

It is a common belief that studying other country languages is a waste of time because nowadays computers can translate other languages quickly as well as accurately. Personally, I disagree with this opinion and I believe learning foreign languages may enhance our knowledge. To begin with, mastering other languages can promote the brain development of children. In recent times, many schools have educated two or more languages to children before the age of 5 because it improves their memory power at an early age. This would assist learners to excel in their academics as they have to remember many details in their minds. It is a well-known fact among educators that studying many languages could bring out creativity skills in students. Furthermore, children with good creativity and remembering skills could achieve success in many fields. Therefore, reading other languages could enhance children’s academic performance. Another reason is languages can provide an opportunity to know about a culture. All languages teach their culture along with language as they both are merged together. When a person go to abroad, he can easily socialize with native people if he knows that language and moreover, gadgets which can translate could not provide that bond. This socialization with other country people could aid them a life-experience. Thus studying foreign languages can educate people about many cultural and social values. In conclusion, although several technologies are available today for translation, the benefits obtained by learning other languages cannot be matched with computers. Hence, studying foreign languages is good for individuals.