Because of the global economy, many goods including what we use as daily basics produced by other countries have to be transported for a long distance. To what extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Globalisation has converted the world into a global village, where everything is connected to everything. As a result, countries are able to transport the daily essential goods over a long distance. But there are some advantages and disadvantages associated with this topic. In my opinion, the positive aspects take precedence over the drawbacks. There are many positive sides to transporting goods over a long distance. First off, it gives us a variety of options to choose from a specific product like foods, clothes even also medicines. For example, about ten years ago we hardly saw any cherimoya fruit, which is mainly from South Africa. But, nowadays, we can find it in every fruit store. Additionally, transportation of goods creates employment in this sector. The business can expand globally, as a result, it helps to increase the countries economic growth. On the other hand, there are few downsides to transporting goods over a long distance. Due to the easy transportation facility, the multinational companies and brands are entering the markets, and day by day it is getting tougher for small bands to operate in local markets. Another major disadvantage is the pollution caused by the exhausted flames by trucks, ships, and aircraft. They cross thousands of miles to transport goods from one country to another, it increases the environmental pollutions. Even nowadays we can hear the news as oil carrier ships crashed into the sea, and thousands of gallons of oil floating over the water, which kind of affects the ecological system. To conclude, although there are a few disadvantages regarding the transportation of essential goods, there are a plethora of advantages that outweigh the disadvantages.