Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximise chances for employment. To what extent do you agree or diagree?

In modern society, there has been an increase in tuition fees and more narrow job opportunities. Some people believe that universities no longer offer arts subjects like philosophy and history in the curriculum and should pay entire attention to providing practical courses that could broaden students ’ prospects. Although practical subjects are indispensable in universities nowadays, I am of opinion that non-academic disciplines are also worthy in this tertiary education. On the one hand, it is of paramount importance to provide real-world experience subjects in universities. First and foremost, university graduates would be equipped with not only fundamental but also necessary knowledge that is practicable in real-life situations, particularly in the working environment. Because employers have a tendency of seeking qualified employees who obtained sufficient background at universities, it is likely advantageous for students in terms of securing a brighter career path. In addition, a large number of productive workers would be introduced into the current labour workforce thanks to the integration of these practical disciplines. In other words, from the perspective of society, the overall productivity would be enhanced and consequently boosting the national economy. On the other hand, I firmly believe that art-based subjects play a vital role in tertiary education. The noticeable merit of these disciplines is that students might obtain a more profound comprehension of the underlying factors in society. For example, via philosophy courses, students can deepen their understanding of how political areas work through the ideologies of political predecessors. Another supporting case is that history provides students with historical background, for instance, of their nation and ancestors. Through this knowledge, graduates would appreciate and show compassion for the sufferings and losses that previous generations had to bear. Therefore, all art-related subjects could sharpen the mentality of graduates, and make them more knowledgeable and well-educated. To sum up, it is undeniable that practical disciplines are crucial for students to have a prospective career in this modern society. However, are-based subjects are indispensable for the development of the individual and society.