Employers should focus on personal qualities over qualifications and experience when choosing someone for a job. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Nowadays, employers are being criticised for selecting candidates based on their academic qualifications. Many people claim that personal qualities are being ignored by the selectors and the entire interview process is focused on academics, so, people want selectors to consider personal skills to hire. However, I do not agree with the statement and in my opinion, certain jobs need subject knowledge and without that, they cannot perform well. To start with, qualifications play a vital role in the hiring process as not all professions can be handled with personal skills. The medicine industry, teaching jobs, for instance, requires knowledge to handle daily tasks. If a doctor is not qualified enough, how can he do surgeries and save lives, even if he has a steady hand to operate? Additionally, it will be unfair for the folks who have worked hard to gain degrees, if their studies are being taken for granted. Furthermore, the university results give an idea to the interviewer about the job-seeker, it helps them to judge well. For example, if I am taking an interview and the candidate has above average marks, it will make me more inclined towards him. In addition to this, today competition is at its peak, it has become difficult for organizations to pick candidates from a number of eligible profiles and hence academic qualification and experience becomes important criteria to shortlist candidates. In conclusion, many technical professions require academic qualifications as mentioned in the above paragraphs. Therefore, people should focus on their studies along with their personal skills, to have a nice and respectable job.