The tourist industry has grown enormously over the last fifty years and there are few places which are unaffected by it. However, tourism rarely benefits the countries which tourists visit. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

over the past decades the rate at which people tour has increased tremendously. most individuals visit different countries in persuit of recreation, relaxation and pleasure. the society argue that the destination places are of no advantages to such events. others also suggest that the pros of that activity outweighs the cons. I completely disagree with the opinion that tourism hardly benefit the destination countries. to start with, this activity increases the countries economy. although tourism is resource-intensive, most society rely on it as their source of revenue and employment. for instance, Maldive in the Indean ocean relies on tourism as its largest industry. it is one of the most visited places in the world and a key driver to poverty reduction in the country. most foreigners who move to different countries to tour uses either dollars or pounds. when they get to where they will land, they exchange their money for the local money. this helps the local government to get a lot of foreign money to purchase goods. to add to the first point, it creates employment. many hotels, restaurants and beaches hire a lot of workers due to the influx of tourist. moreover, this event also increases the infrastructures of a country. in most cases, areas where those people visits most have good roads, hospitals, schools and adequate water and electricity supply. however, although tourism benefits both the government and individuals at those sites, it has it's own disadvantages. it could lead to air pollution, environmental pollution and also social crimes such as drunkenness, public sex and robbery. in conclusion, many places rely on tourism as a source of revenue and employment. unfortunately, it could also be a source of problems if not managed well. in my opinion, this event is helpful to both the government and destination areas and hence it must be well regulated.