The position of women has changed a great deal in many societies over the past 50 years. But these societies cannot claim to have achieved gender equality. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the past fifty years, female is given more opportunities towards different kinds of jobs while gender equality is still a tough task for the society to accomplish. I totally agree that women play a much more important role in the division of labor in society than that in the past and total equality between men and women cannot be realized nowadays. On the one hand, women are achieving more educationally and taking part more in the labor force than ever before. In recent years, there is not such a significant difference between the number of female students and male students. When women have opportunity to be educated in a university or college, they could be qualified in the workplace in different field. Therefore, Human resource managers of many companies tend to take the abilities of candidates more into account but not the gender. There are more women working as government officials in many countries around the world and for instance, in 2014, Angela Merkel was the first female prime minister in Germany. However, it has been an existing problem of inequality of gender since the beginning of the humanity. Because of the biological difference between women and men, division of labor in the society result in the inequality between them. Even though women can be treated in many positions as men in the society, it is no doubt that there are some jobs which more suitable for men than women. For example, men are good at logical thinking and they would rather choose to study engineering science and natural science in the universities. In the contrast, women are skilled in emotional thinking and they like to research on the problems in the society. Thus, although the inequality between different gender could be gradually cut down, it is hard to realize the total equality of gender for the society. To conclude, I strongly believe that the gender equality will be continuously improved in the future and an absolute equality is the goal of the society but it is also a tough task to make it come true.