car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam.' how true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Due to advanced technology, there is a significant increase in the number of vehicles.It is argued that because of rapid increase in car ownership, cities are facing more traffic.As per my own perspective, above statement is true and I will discuss what government can do to promote public transport rather than private vehicles. Firstly,more vehicles on roads are not only concern of traffic blockage but also affects environment. For Example, air pollution has resulted in climate change and global warming due to emission of harmful gases in the air. It not only destroys the environment but also a big threat to health and results in disease such as Asthma or cardiovascular. On the other Hand, Government needs to improve public transport system and provide easy access to nearby places in order to motivate people to use trains and buses.Other than that, Government needs to raise awareness and educate people that what are the side effects of using more private vehicles. To Conclude, Although it's true that private vehicles are resulting in traffic jam but if government takes possible measures and educates it's people about the damages of air pollution, this issue can be resolved.