Employers should focus on personal qualities instead of qualifications and experience when choosing someone for a job. To what extent do you agree?

The company nowadays looks for communication or interpersonal skills talent instead of their years of experience and qualifications when they are hiring. In my opinion, personal skills should be an add-on rather than the solo criteria for selecting the candidate. Recently, we have seen a trend where Technology and Finance companies have started to hire for various entry-level positions with a college or university itself. As college student does not have any real-world experience in that particular area they look for skills like presentation skills, speaking ability, and also their attitude towards learning new things. This can help a job giver a better assessment of the candidate. For example, a Friend of mine applied for a fresher coding job in a big tech company, he was selected for that job because he showed them his ability how fast we can learn new skills. Moreover, when a startup in the initial stage does not have a good amount of money they start looking for talent which can fulfil multiple jobs requirements getting to know that person's personal skills helps them a lot to take their final verdict. For,instance recently I saw a job posting where a startup for looking for someone who has past software development experience in the role of project management for faster product completion. Also for roles like sales past knowledge may not matter sometime as just need to have ability to convince some to buy an item. In conclusion, personal skills matter a lot when someone is getting hired because in that way they will be the judge a person better.